Expect anything from about £100 a year to several thousand pounds. For most sole trader electricians, I think a few hundred pounds up to about £2,000 is sensible up front, or £30 to £100 a month for a managed service.
We're in this market and we're not the cheapest. Our prices sit next to everyone else's below, along with the cases where I'd pick a cheaper option.
The short version
- Do it yourself: about £100 to £350 a year, plus your evenings.
- Local service business site: often £500 to £2,000.
- Agency: from about £1,500 to £30,000 or more. Published figures vary widely.
- Monthly trade services: mostly £30 to £200 a month.
- The best cheap upgrade is your scheme number, linked to the register.
Published price ranges
Most of these come from companies selling websites, so read them as guides.
| Route | Published price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| DIY builder | £100 to £350 a year all-in | ExpertSure |
| Local service business site | £500 to £2,000 | ExpertSure |
| Freelancer, basic site | £300 to £1,500 | Trendjackers, a trades web designer |
| Agency | £1,500 to £6,000 for a trades build, or £3,000 to £30,000 and more | Trendjackers and ExpertSure |
| Subscription web designer | £49 to £100 a month | Trendjackers |
| Domain renewal | About £10 to £15 a year | ExpertSure |
Pay-monthly options
These suit an electrician who'd rather never log in. All read on 6 November 2026. Check the term, and whether VAT's on top.
| Provider | Monthly price | Set-up | Term or notice |
|---|---|---|---|
| Websites 4 Trades | £30 | Not stated | Not stated. The page we read doesn't name electricians, so ask. |
| Ubie Websites | £39, £69 or £89 | None | 12 months, then 30 days' notice. Yours once the first 12 months are paid. |
| Pay Monthly Webs | £29, £49 or £89 | None | Page shows both a 12-month agreement and rolling monthly |
| StoreBuilder | £49 for up to 10 pages | None | 30 days' notice. Buy-out is £995. |
| Real Business Systems, up to 15 pages | £99 | £500, or none on annual billing | No minimum term on monthly billing |
| Real Business Systems, up to 20 pages | £149 | £750, or none on annual billing | As above |
| Real Business Systems, up to 40 pages | £199 | £1,000, or none on annual billing | As above |
Ours exclude VAT, and annual billing is ten times the monthly price.
Ubie deserves credit. Its page offers NICEIC and NAPIT badge pages, and its ownership terms are simpler than ours. If a good site at a low monthly price is all you're after, have a look.
The same sum over three years
Year-one prices flatter some options. These use published prices, before your own time. Ours exclude VAT, so check VAT on the others.
| Route | Sums | Three-year cost |
|---|---|---|
| Wix at £9 a month, billed annually | £9 × 36 | £324 |
| Ubie Websites, cheapest plan | £39 × 36 | £1,404 |
| StoreBuilder at £49 a month | £49 × 36 | £1,764 |
| Freelancer at £1,500, plus £15 a month for hosting and upkeep | £1,500 + £540 | £2,040 |
| Ours, up to 15 pages, annual billing | £990 × 3 | £2,970 |
| Ours, up to 15 pages, monthly billing | £500 + (£99 × 36) | £4,064 |
The freelancer's £15 a month is my assumption. Real upkeep depends on who makes your changes.
Why pay more, then? Only if the site earns it. Ours covers unlimited updates done within 48 business hours, hosting, lead forms and set-up for AI search, and a brand-new page later is £150. Don't need that? Go cheaper.
Check the ownership terms as well. Ours is a website as a service: we host it and make your changes while your plan runs. You can take the code free of charge after 24 months of payments, or buy it out before then. If you leave without buying it, the site comes down. The same happens if you use the 30-day money-back guarantee.
What the site must do for an electrician
- A tappable phone number on every page.
- One page for each real service: consumer units, rewires, EV chargers, fault-finding, EICRs, commercial work.
- Customers' words next to yours. They search "fuse box" and "electrics keep tripping".
- The towns you cover, written for people.
- Your scheme name and number, linked to your register entry.
- Your insurance in plain words.
- Genuine reviews, and photos used with permission. Keep customers' addresses out of them.
- A short form with space for a photo of the board.
- Price ranges. An EICR range by property size and a typical consumer unit price will weed out a lot of poor enquiries.
- A line for power cuts: ring 105. Northern Ireland uses NIE Networks.
- Quick loading on a phone.
Few customers check, so do it for them
The FMB and HomeOwners Alliance reported in June 2026 that 15% of homeowners under 35 verified credentials, against 27% of over-55s, and that 20% of the younger group judged a builder on website and branding, compared with 9% overall. It's about builders, the sample isn't stated, and I'd only expect a similar pattern for electricians.
Citizens Advice's 2026 survey adds that 20% of people who used an approved or accredited trader found the credentials hard to verify. So a link to your register entry is doing real work. GOV.UK points homeowners to Registered Competent Person Electrical.
Claims that get electricians in trouble
Cheap sites with copied wording are where this goes wrong.
- Show only the logos and marks you hold. Displaying a trust or quality mark without authorisation is banned under Schedule 20 of the DMCC Act 2024, and so is claiming approval you lack.
- Stay inside your certified scope. NAPIT's rules tie marks to that scope and remove them when certification ends. Read your own scheme's brand rules too.
- If your supervisor leaves or your registration lapses, update the site that day.
- Avoid "Part P certified" on work you're passing to a third-party certifier.
- Leave off "emergency electrician, 24/7" unless you'll truly answer.
- Don't call a test "free" if it depends on buying something.
And nobody needs 40 pages on day one. One for each service and one for each main area will do.
Questions for any provider
- Whose name is the domain in? It should be yours.
- On leaving, do you keep the site, the words and the photos?
- How long's the minimum term, and how's notice given?
- How quickly do changes go live? A scheme detail may need updating the same day.
- Is VAT included?
- What proof do you get that it works, such as calls and form enquiries?
- Can you see it on a phone before paying?
When to spend less
Not everyone should buy from us, and I'd say so to your face.
- New and short of cash? Use Wix or a low-cost monthly service. Your first money should go on your scheme, and the Google profile's free.
- Subbing for builders, or commercial work by referral? One page is enough.
- Fully booked from recommendations? Leave it alone.
- Like tinkering? DIY will teach you plenty.
Spend more when the phone's too quiet for your size, or when a poor site is costing you rewires and bigger jobs.
Questions electricians ask
Is a Google profile enough without a website?
You can get work that way. But a profile leaves little room for services, prices and registration, so I'd have both.
Should prices go on my site?
Yes, as ranges. You'll skip visits that go nowhere, and few electricians bother.
When can I use the NICEIC or NAPIT logo?
Only while registered, within scope and following the scheme's brand rules. It comes down if your registration ends.
What does "AI-ready" actually mean?
For us, the site sits on the same platform as your other systems, so chat, a welcome offer or booking can be added later with no rebuild. Other providers may mean something else, so ask.
Will a free website do?
For a very new business, perhaps. Check you can use your own domain. Wix has a free plan, and paid plans start at £9 a month billed annually.
Sources
- ExpertSure, website design costs (25 October 2026)
- Trendjackers, website costs for tradesmen (vendor)
- Websites 4 Trades, Ubie Websites, Pay Monthly Webs and StoreBuilder (all vendors, read 6 November 2026)
- Wix, best website builders UK
- FMB and HomeOwners Alliance (2 June 2026)
- Citizens Advice, home repair problems press release (7 July 2026)
- Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Act 2024, Schedule 20
- NAPIT Installer Scheme Rules v2.0-NAPIT-Installer-Scheme-Rules-v2.0-(04.26).pdf) (April 2026)
- GOV.UK, building work and replacements (England)
- Selectra, NIE Networks (6 November 2026)
Prices and rules change. Check the source before you rely on a figure. This is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.
